Peace, Greece

I was very privileged to spend a week in Greece. It turned out to not be enough. I didn’t get to visit Athens, and it was the wrong time of year to appreciate the numerous beaches and islands dotting the coastline. I must return.

Here is a poem I wrote while resting by the Mediterranean Sea on the day after Christmas in Thessaloniki:

I stare out into the sea
Toward the kingdom of her majesty
And I am in love
I am in love

I can’t compromise
I wear no disguise
I am in love
I am in love

A ship floats in the fog
I lie beside a sleeping dog
I am in love
I am in love

The clarinet tune makes me cry
I can’t tell the sea from the sky
I am in love
I am in love

This beauty is best for viewing
I must learn to live without doing
I am in love
I am in love

The clouds block out the sun
Though the day has only begun
And of troubles, I know not one
I am in love
I am in love

DSCN1395 DSCN1359 DSCN1383 DSCN1382 DSCN1377 DSCN1355 DSCN1373 DSCN1372 DSCN1370 DSCN1353 DSCN1339 DSCN1337 DSCN1334 DSCN1328

Leave a Reply

