My 26th Birthday in Turkey

 

I had an amazing time celebrating my 26th birthday in Turkey (Sile to be exact) despite dealing with an awful stomach virus that continues as I write this. I’m glad I pushed myself to not only leave the comfort of my room (and bathroom) but to eat a giant plate of pasta and a piece of what is best described as ‘psychedelic’ birthday cake when most medical knowledge would dictate that I stick to liquids only.

The liquids would come later — in the form of beer and scotch. Hey, 26 only comes once in a lifetime!

I want to thank everyone for making it so unique. I was especially touched by hearing the singing of ‘Happy Birthday’ in more than six languages. I have never had a birthday like this prior and will probably never have one like it again. Even the indoor smokers who lit up repeatedly despite the obvious prohibitory wall signs and our occasional rebukes made it all the more interesting. I just wish my friends and family back home could have enjoyed it with me.

1 Comment

  1. Janis said,

    December 5, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    Sounds like fun!


Leave a Reply

