The Black Sea and Sile

Why is it called the Black Sea or Kara Deniz (in Turkish)? It’s quite blue just like most other seas. Because I am too lazy to look up the real reason for the name, I will stick with my working theory that there is a black hole in the middle of it. It’s also a way of explaining why a handful of people disappear under its waves around Sile alone each year. I’ve heard it’s due to whirlpools, but I don’t buy it.

I actually took a nap on one of its beaches today — yes, it is still warm enough to do that, even though it’s mid-October. That nap was interrupted by a strong breeze and a fly that wouldn’t stop biting me on the legs as I walked back to the road. It’s interesting how deserted the beach is these days. There aren’t even lifeguards this time of year and no sign of tourists except for an older German couple I met today. The beach has a completely different feel to it when it isn’t crowded. There is only the gentle sound of the waves.

The town itself is also quiet and peaceful. There’s a large hill behind our hotel that I climbed once and took photos overlooking Sile. I got a little scared when I noticed animal feces, but when I thought about it, I was pretty sure that it belonged to wild dogs, which are ubiquitous in the area and generally harmless (although hungry). The only thing living I saw in the highlands was a lone tortoise.

This is not an easy place to meet new people, which is a bit of a shame, but it’s as good a place as any to study — and write. I will have to do plenty of both over the next year. I think I will take up writing poetry again and attempt to translate what I write for the locals. This was once my favorite method of seduction. So much of this country has already seduced me, so it is only fair if I return the favor.

1 Comment

  1. Patty Courtney said,

    October 16, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Matt! You never cease to delight me!


Leave a Reply

