It Begins…

The prodigal son has landed! I write this at 4 p.m. local time from an apartment in Istanbul. I wish I could say exactly where I am, but my mind is hazy to say the least. I was too excited and preoccupied with the in-flight entertainment (as well as the pain of the pressure building up in my ears) to get my sleep.

I’ll have to write more about the journey. The short version is that it involved three planes, three movies, four German-speaking seatmates, and a delay that resulted in my having to sprint to catch my connecting flight. What matters right now is that I’m here.

I want to give a brief shout-out to everyone who made it to my party Thursday night. I had a fabulous time, and I love you all: friends, colleagues, and, of course, Mom. Thank you for making my last night in the United States this year so special. I wish I had the words to articulate my gratitude. But I don’t…so you’ll just have to fill them in!

I also appreciate the calls from those who couldn’t make it. Let’s definitely keep in touch through Skype, Facebook, e-mail, etc. Feel free to comment on my posts here as well, especially if you can answer any open-ended questions I leave you with or if something in particular moves you.

Right now I’m drinking a glass of what tastes like cottage cheese. Apparently it’s called Ayran. I’ll let you know what the chief alcoholic beverage of this country tastes like after tonight. Stay tuned…

2 Comments

  1. Patty Courtney said,

    September 24, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I can’t wait to hear more…

  2. Janis said,

    October 4, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Finally here reading this! Glad you’re safe 🙂


Leave a Reply

