Welcome to my new travel/study blog!

Dear family, friends, colleagues, and supporters:

This blog will serve as my means of documenting my experiences as an international Master’s student at the University of Hacettepe’s new Peace and Conflict Studies program based outside of Istanbul, Turkey. I want to thank everyone who helped make this journey possible and invite you all to visit me, if you are able, between October 2012 and May 2013.

I am writing this from Washington, D.C., where I am attempting to tie up loose ends before I leave on Sept. 21. I don’t have to tell you how stressful it can be preparing for a transition of this magnitude. Despite all this, I hope that you will not hesitate to reach out if you would like to talk to me/visit me prior to take-off.

I hope you will also recommend any books on Turkey, things to do, or places to visit while I’m there that would be of interest. It is my first time, and I only have a handful of contacts (yet the ones I do have are incredible to say the least). I want to make the very best of this experience, which I consider once or twice in a lifetime.

Finally, if you have any questions or comments, feel free to post them on this blog or send me an e-mail, and I will do my best to respond to them either publicly or privately. I will be writing no only about personal experiences but also about politics, culture, language, and whatever else strikes my fancy. Feel free to share.

Enjoy!

5 Comments

  1. Janis said,

    September 2, 2012 at 2:38 am

    This is great! Can’t wait to read about all your adventures.

  2. maurizio geri said,

    September 2, 2012 at 6:51 am

    Great Matt!!! We will be closer…pass from Florence when you have break…it will be a life changing experience and I am happy for you! Regarding books to suggest now I am reading Orhan Pamuk, White Castle…interesting writer. Enjoy! All shall be well. Mau

    • September 3, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      I hear a lot of good things about Pamuk. Will look into it. Thanks, and I hope to see you soon.

  3. September 3, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Happy for you, Matt. Nice blog. Keep us posted and good luck on your endeavors. Make the best of this and focus on what makes cultures come together and not clash 🙂

    Salam,
    May Kosba

    • September 3, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      Thanks for the great comment, May! It’s very relevant because I was just reading about the Kurdish conflict and how costly it has been to Turkey.


Leave a Reply

